What's new

- Week ABR Festival 2023

Amos Malone

Member Number
[UWSL]I'm not one of those that think that if there aren't few hundred posed shots of myself with a bike the trip was a failure. But unusually for me I took few pictures along the way this time.[/UWSL]
Since I took few photos I decided to add a trip here. This is after all a forum aimed at people travelling on ADV bikes.

In preparation for the trip I put a taller windshield on the bike. Awesome.
IMG_4924.jpg

I then removed the itsy bitsy teeny weeny top box, and added my luggage for a long weekend trip. Tent, sleeping bag, large air mattress (because while low weight is important, comfort is importanter). Photos of loaded bike later. I'm not very good at this, am I?

After all that was ready. I proceeded to ride the 60 or so kilometers to Hoek of Holland. Where I waited in line for the StenaLine ferry to UK. Chatted with other motorists (one coming from riding the TET in Sweden) and then rode on board. No photos. :D
Ferry crossing was 7 hours of boredom. There is only so much you can do during a whole day on a glorified sea-bus. Although it has stores with duty free alcohol (not before riding), cosmetics (not my style, although at the end I was thinking about seeing what I was missing) and sweets (doesn't fit my diet restrictions). There is also a restaurant where you can purchase a mcdonald's equivalent of of a hamburger (with no ham, but bacon is an option), for 10 times the price, and a coffee shop, where I transfered few of the preciouses from my bank account, in exchange for a paper cone, with a flat bottom, filled with mud. Finally I found refuge in semi-comfortable chair, in front of a large wall mounted TV, where they were showing some people hitting yellow balls with a net on a stick. The aim seemed to be to hit the ball to each other, over another net, as fast as they could. Weird what people do for fun.