What's new

Braking myths.

klaviator

Scooter Trash
Member Number
We've all heard of the "don't touch the front brakes you'll go over the handlebars myth. There are a few "riders" out there who still believe this although I doubt any are on this site. How about the "do all your braking while straight up and down, not in the curve" myth. The MSF used to actually teach this as did Keith Code. There are still a lot of riders out there who still believe this.

Anyone here still believe this myth?

Use brakes any time you need to slow down. Period 😁

After growing up on dirt bikes and never learning to use the front brake much ( still don't, in the dirt) I decided to focus on front brake more when I started riding on the street. I was maybe late twenties and was going on a ride with the guys who run a local bike shop. I guess I looked a little wobbly ( I felt fine 😁) and the older fella in his sixties motioned for me to follow him. I followed him to a large parking lot and he informed me of the importance of using rear brake for stability at low speeds. I'm glad he did. I'm glad he wasn't afraid of offending somebody and I'm glad I wasn't too driven stubborn to listen to help.

Looking back, my main takeaway is don't believe internet hype. "If you use rear brake in a corner you'll lay er down!" Nah, it's a great way to tighten your line without disturbing the fork. The old man taught me that, too. RIP Monty. Miss riding with you.

We've all heard of the "don't touch the front brakes you'll go over the handlebars myth. There are a few "riders" out there who still believe this although I doubt any are on this site. How about the "do all your braking while straight up and down, not in the curve" myth. The MSF used to actually teach this as did Keith Code. There are still a lot of riders out there who still believe this.

Well, "over the handlebars" is not familiar with me. Losing the front is more familiar. Unfortunately this is not a myth.