What's new

Transition from MAP to GPS

klaviator

Scooter Trash
Member Number
I have been riding for 44 years. Most of that riding was done using paper maps or just the maps in my head. Some years ago I discovered mapquest and then Google maps and those started replacing paper maps for trip planning. Then I got a smart phone and would occasionally pull out my phone when I got lost or couldn't find something and consult google maps. A couple of years ago I decided it was time to get a GPS and mount in on my bikes so I could use it while riding. Like many other things I put my toe in the water as opposed to diving in headfirst and I got a Garmin drive 52EX for $99 at Wally World. I found a cheap mounting system and started suing it on some of my bikes. I found the Garmin pretty clunky to use or to input stuff however it was nice being able to see where I was and what was coming up. IMO Garmin's software sucked compared to google maps.

I'm at the point where I want to have a useful GPS mounted on my bikes that. My real motivation is that I will be doing a trip out west this summer and want to be able to follow some GPX tracks. After doing a lot of research I found basically three options.

1. Buy and expensive Garmin or less expensive used Garmin

2. Buy a Tom Tom.

3. Use a smartphone with one of the many GPS apps out there.

I just read too many bad things about garmin and my personal experience hasn't been that good and Garmin is expensive so I have ruled out #1.

I have a friend who swears by Tom Tom and it is less expensive than Garmin but it won't accept GPX tracks.